F is for Fabulist

The Fabulist

it’s not my story

but I shall speak to you of it

where it began?

in the earth

in the earth is where all

things are born

and die

the vortex

threw out the bloodied, burning beginnings

and the red dirt burns its way into the flesh

a tattooed tale

tum ta ta tum

tum ta ta tum

sing the saga to the winds

small seeds, scurrying, seeking

a  homeland that the threads reach

from the beginning

talking tales

teach the small ones to grow

straight of limb

but

supple of the soul

it is not for me to condemn

symbols given

leading

tides to carry

the burden back to the beginning

#

fabulist – one who invents fables

Origin:
1250–1300; Middle English fable, fabel, fabul
< Anglo-French, Old French
< Latin fābula  a story, tale, equivalent to fā ( rī ) to speak

#

For other great posts on the letter F check out ABC Wednesday

30 Comments

    1. That is a great compliment coming from you. Thank you so much. I have been fixing up old photos that I took in Africa and this one of the girl has always been a favourite – I always saw her possibilities – and this was one I imagined for her – the storyteller.

      Like

  1. A wonderful poem, especially the part “teach the small ones to grow straight of limb but supple of the soul”. It fits so well with the photo.
    Thank you for commenting on my blog today.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

    Like

  2. scattered seeds, seeking homes, burdens back… This poem evokes images of the immigrants dilema and how govornments welcome them, or not. I like it.

    Like

        1. I know – I think I can get it back – at least I hope so. Bummer is both kids lost it as well. Though they will have no trouble getting it back – it is just a bit of work to do it. Me – well – that remains to be seen. 🙂

          Like

Comments are closed.