CBBH Photo Challenge: LOOKING FORWARD, LOOKING BACK

Conejo Blanco

This month’s CBBH Photo Challenge is LOOKING FORWARD, LOOKING BACK.  All you have to do is take a photograph and then turn round and take another of what is behind you.

Which is exactly what I did. I have been taking a lot of long walks lately with Chevvy, to get out of the house. The estuary is one of my favourite places here. The other day we went and sat on a bench at the end of a small pier. It was a balm for my sore heart.

Looking forward had me mesmerized by the sunlight on the water and this family of shags playing around.

IMG_8563Looking back was of course the pier we traversed to get to the seat. It is a lot more stable than it looks.

IMG_8572So now for my two blogs.

  1. I Want Ice Water – I don’t know how to explain what sort of blog Izaak has. Actually there is no way to explain it. You just have to go see for yourself. To give you a bit of direction I am going to point towards one post…The Pussy Collection. After that, you’re on your own folks !!!
  2. Leanne Cole Photography – It is a blog I go to when I need inspiration. Beautiful, beautiful images. She also has some wonderful tips and explanations concerning photography.

Now Marianne has pointed me in the direction of Maggie, and I just have to talk about this too. Maggie is walking the Camino Portuguese at this very moment. She is blogging about it each night. I can’t wait for her posts…fascinating reading already and Maggie has only done three days. I hope you will pop over to visit Maggie’s blog – Trepidatious Traveller – either from here or from Marianne’s !!!

So that is me done for now. Just to let you know…I am doing okay. I miss Crash like crazy, but all of you wonderful comments has helped me through these first days of grief. Thank you, thank you, thank you !!!

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

31 thoughts on “CBBH Photo Challenge: LOOKING FORWARD, LOOKING BACK”

  1. Whenever I need to try to heal a sore heart, or even just think things over, I always head for water …. preferably the sea. I find it very soothing and I’m sure that Chevvy will help you heal 🙂

    Great photos, Jo!

    I’m not surprised you find inspiration in Leanne Cole’s blog – so do I. Her tutorials are legendary! And Maggie is a relatively new source of inspiration to me, walking the Camino Portuguese from Lisbon to Santiago de Compostela. Inspirational women indeed 🙂

    I’ll hop over to your other link ….. with a little trepidation, Jo. LOL

    Like

    1. What is it they say about that…hmmmmm…oh yes. I remember now: “When you’re in jail, a good friend will be trying to bail you out. A best friend will be in the cell next to you saying, ‘Damn, that was fun’.”

      ― Groucho Marx

      Like

  2. what rickety looking pier Jo … but so natural and inviting! Glad to think of you sitting by the water in the sunlight sparkle 🙂 You have piqued my interest so now I am off to blog hop … and to check out the Traveller … wishing you a mellow monday evening …

    Like

    1. I found this at the Te Ara – Encyclopedia of New Zealand.

      Members of the shag family belong to three groups, based on the colour of their feet: black, yellow or pink. Outside New Zealand, the black-footed shags are better known as cormorants.

      So yes I guess they are.

      Like

  3. Glad to hear you finding good times out walking with Chevvy Jo … I love the clearing of the brain that comes with those sorts of walks … it also lets in new thoughts which can be very beneficial and at times quite inspiring x

    Like

  4. I’m following Marianne now on her exciting journey. Thank you for sharing.

    Both your photos are outstanding but with the second one, I see as a book cover… I wonder what the story would be about. 🙂

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

