Rebuttal: Minister’s Science Advisory Committee (NZ)

One of our councils recently had the sense to take fluoride out of the water supply. Two others are considering it. Dentists went berserk begging the government to step in. It frightens me how ill informed our government is. And how ready they are to suck up to not only corporations but organizations that use scare tactics (you should have seen the pictures they used of rotten children’s teeth blasting the news), to stop the public from making informed and sensible choices. This is a great rebuttal of the government’s views regarding fluoride.

What is in the water? – June 12, 2013
The Office of the Prime Minister’s Science Advisory Committee
New Zealand

Claim: “The science of fluoride in water is effectively settled. It has been one of the most thoroughly worked questions in public health science over some decades.”

Response: On the contrary. When the University of York examined the evidence on fluoridation, the authors were surprised at its poor quality. According to the research team, “Given the level of interest surrounding the issue of public water fluoridation, it is surprising to find that little high quality research has been undertaken.” Three years later, the authors reiterated, “We were unable to discover any reliable good-quality evidence in the fluoridation literature world-wide… As emphasised in the report, only high-quality studies can fill in the gaps in knowledge about these and other aspects of fluoridation.”

Claim: “There is no doubt that the presence of…

View original post 1,453 more words

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

13 thoughts on “Rebuttal: Minister’s Science Advisory Committee (NZ)”

    1. It sure is. The silly thing is here only some places have flouride. There is no correlation data that verifies there being more dental decay in one area to another. And people don’t realise that if you don’t drink the water you don’t get it. I don’t see why I have to ingest poison I don’t want in my body because some half-wit THINKS it helps stop decay. Especially when studies done were so haphazard.

      Like

  1. I’m always amazed by how ignorant people in government are. I shouldn’t be after so many years and throughout history, but I still am.

    Like

  2. Great highlight here Jo. Wish more would understand how fluoride is not there for any teeth and do their research! Its the Sugar content of all the rubbish fed our children that’s the problem. But don’t get me started on additives and sugar substitutes lol or I will be here all day!

    Hope you well Jo.
    Love Sue xxx

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

