Small Stone #15 January 2013

rushing about has become entrenched

sometimes

just sometimes

in between blinks

you can stop the world for a moment

and freeze frame a memory

Monarch Butterfly

Now yesterday a man I admire got a Golden Globe Award. Congrats Kevin…you deserve it. You really should see the series “Hatfields & McCoys” if you haven’t.

Sue…just couldn’t help thinking of you when Ben Affleck won his Award. Remember your comment ??? I sure did.

Kevin Costner is just one of those people critics love to pick on…like Ben Affleck, who is now making some terrific movies.

Related posts

69 thoughts on “Small Stone #15 January 2013”

  1. There’s a commercial on tv at the moment featuring a man speaking to a few children who conclude that “faster is better.” I have to talk back to the tv every time I see it: “faster is NOT always better.” Whatever happened to “stop and smell the roses,” or in this case, watch a butterfly. Love your words and photo.

    Like

    1. What a pain in the arse ad !!! I hate the whole ‘faster is better’ concept. Sometimes when the kids are home I get crazy when they hold their phones all day and can’t turn it off in case someone txts them. I just don’t get that whole ‘have to know everything right now’ attitude. I wish they could just chill out and smell the roses for a time. Thanks Jennifer…so glad you liked this one.

      Like

      1. You’d probably really hate one of the other commercials in this series where the kids talk about how it’s better to have two lasers shooting out of your two eyes rather than one because two can do much more damage. What in the world are we teaching our kids?

        Like

        1. OMG !!! What in the heck are these commercials about ??? What a sad state these kids are in…that is scary to hear Jennifer. Really, really scary.
          😦
          😦
          😦

          Like

          1. I totally agree, Jo. It IS scary. These are commercials for using AT&T-4G on the iPhone5 (it’s faster). I don’t have an iPhone, but I feel like boycotting AT&T just for these disturbing commercials. But then again, I’d like to do away with violent video games, too, which I feel sure are behind what these kids are spouting.

            Like

          2. I think companies like this need to show more responsibility in showing ads like these – other kids will think this is cool to talk like that.
            😦
            😦

            Like

  2. The image is stunning, one of your best. Perfectly matched with your golden words πŸ™‚
    You know it would be really something to get a collection of favourite stones together wouldn’t it? I think Kaspa and Fiona did it last year. Maybe one day!

    Like

  3. I’m probably the only person in the world who doesn’t know the acting skills of Ben A or Kevin C. I bet you are shocked to hear that I haven’t been to the cinema since 1987

    Like

  4. I really love the butterfly photo. What an interesting site you have, I’ve enjoyed checking it out.
    Thanks for your recent comments on my photoblog, I really appreciate them.

    Like

    1. You are welcome !!! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave comments. I love that you find the blog interesting…that comment just made my day.
      πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Yes, Jo! I am happy for Ben!! His movie got nominated for several Oscars, but he did not (same ol’, same ol’). Glad he is getting other awards (Critic’s and Golden Globe).

    Like

    1. It must be a bit of a pain. To know that your work is not recognised…even when it is good. I know he did a few dud films, but have they forgotten who co-wrote and starred in “Good Will Hunting” ???

      Like

      1. Just jealousy is my take on it. Sometimes it is difficult to attain success early in a career…you can’t live up to it. Yes, he made a few bad decisions, but the talent is undeniably there…

        Like

    1. You got to meet him. Oh my giddy aunt I am so jealous right now. Was the concert good? I really like his band’s music and would so go to see him if he ever came here to play.

      Like

          1. Oh wow! Yeah, not touring in New Zealand would be a reason for not being able to see them. 😦 Hmmm…maybe lots of fanmail from New Zealand would get their attention to make a trip for you guys! πŸ˜‰

            Like

  6. Love this photo! Simply LOVE it! I don’t know how you did it and got the butterfly so clear, while the rest is blurred, but it’s a gorgeous shot. πŸ™‚ Haven’t seen that movie yet but it’s on the list. I have heard rave reviews of it and have always been a Kevin Costner fan. One movie that he was in that not a lot of people have heard of is “A Perfect World”. He did SUCH a good job in that film.

    Like

    1. I loved A Perfect World with Clint Eastwood. he was so compelling in that. You will love this but it is 6 hours long so put your feet up.
      It’s all in the editing…hehehehe.

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

