Weekly Photo Challenge: MY 2012 in pictures

 

Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in pictures.

Home during the holidays The Daughter and I were walking Chevvy at the end of my street. As she headed for home this poem came to me: “she doesn’t look back – it’s as it should be”
Home during the holidays The Daughter and I were walking Chevvy at the end of my street. As she headed for home this poem came to me: “she doesn’t look back – it’s as it should be”
The Son turned 21 and with that milestone I couldn’t help but compare the young man chasing life with the little boy chasing birds he knew he’d never catch because he loved the feeling.
The Son turned 21 and with that milestone I couldn’t help but compare the young man chasing life with the little boy chasing birds he knew he’d never catch because he loved the feeling.
As the summer began to move on I took time to practice macro photography on one of my favourite subjects - bees.
As the summer began to move on I took time to practice macro photography on one of my favourite subjects – bees.
In April there were two celebrations. The daughter turned 23 and she graduated as a Mechanical Engineer. At times she makes my heart hurt it is so ready to burst with pride.
In April there were two celebrations. The daughter turned 23 and she graduated as a Mechanical Engineer. At times she makes my heart hurt it is so ready to burst with pride.
In a small shop in Tauranga I found this treasure. While well beyond my purchasing ability, my camera allowed me the pleasure of taking it home with me and editing software gave me the joy of making it my own.
In a small shop in Tauranga I found this treasure. While well beyond my purchasing ability, my camera allowed me the pleasure of taking it home with me and editing software gave me the joy of making it my own.
When possible I try to capture the personalities of the fur babies that share my life on film.
When possible I try to capture the personalities of the fur babies that share my life on film.
I am not adverse to capturing other people’s pets on film either…especially when it includes a trip to my favourite place – the beach.
I am not adverse to capturing other people’s pets on film either…especially when it includes a trip to my favourite place – the beach.
It’s my birthday month and what better way to celebrate than a yummy steak sandwich with a friend for lunch.
It’s my birthday month and what better way to celebrate than a yummy steak sandwich with a friend for lunch.
My interest in macro photography is growing. And this beautiful flower [okay Gilly - what is it ?] was worth capturing I thought.
My interest in macro photography is growing. And this beautiful flower [okay Gilly – what is it ?] was worth capturing I thought.
The Tauranga Air Museum is hidden away on the road that leads to the airport. It grew out of an idea and a shed and now houses one of the best collections of antique planes in New Zealand.
The Tauranga Air Museum is hidden away on the road that leads to the airport. It grew out of an idea and a shed and now houses one of the best collections of antique planes in New Zealand.
Is there anything cuter than a duckling ? Well how about a whole bunch [what do you call a bunch of them?] of ducklings. This one was very special with his little stripe on the head though.
Is there anything cuter than a duckling ? Well how about a whole bunch [what do you call a bunch of them?] of ducklings. This one was very special with his little stripe on the head though.
The Katikati Brass Band has a very busy time of it around the holiday season. Here they were performing at a local Victorian Christmas Fair.
The Katikati Brass Band has a very busy time of it around the holiday season. Here they were performing at a local Victorian Christmas Fair.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

75 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: MY 2012 in pictures”

        1. He has had a sore/yukky eye for a week. I have to put antibiotic ointment in it every 4 hours and he has been patient with me but is getting VERY fed up about now. He stares at my hands as I approach and if he sees the tube…he is off and running.

          Like

  1. What a fabulous slide show! I don’t think my account will let me do the same kind of stuff. I am so impressed with your development as a photographer! Here’s to 2013! I hope someday that we shall meet, whether in California or New Zealand. I’d prefer we meet in New Zealand, if I can ever save up the airfare! xoxo Russell

    Like

    1. Okay – just so long as if I ever save enough I can come visit you.
      😉
      And thank you !!! What a lovely thing to say about my photography…though I still have a ways to go yet.

      Like

  2. Jo, your photos are fabulous! I love the colors too… I have tell you, we must have some twin thing or serendipity, many of the posts I reached so far, you were the last person commenting on them… I was like Oy vey, I hope she doesn’t think I’m stalking her. 😆 I’m NOT… but glad to see your contributions on this challenge.
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy New Year to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” Have a restful weekend!
    Eliz

    Like

  3. What a wonderful year you had, thank you for sharing the best. I know that bursting with pride feeling, my eldest daughter is an electronic engineer – so great to see women in what are still a male dominated professions. Wishing you a very happy New Year 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎊

    Like

  4. Love your choices for 2012. A celebration of self, family and journey we face in life. Some make us smile. Others make us sad. No matter how it made us feel, they all made us feel alive. Wishing you and your family an exciting New Year.

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

