Travel Theme: Night

Tauranga is twenty minutes drive from where I live.

The other night I went to a poetry evening in Tauranga, where there was an open mike as well as a few featured poets.

It was a evening where creativity flowed from some surprising sources.

These are the two poems I read…some of you may recognise them from previous posts.

The Maiden’s Song


she watches the sky

not for the stars – for the chocolate syrup they swim in,

in a graveyard

the rough stonework comforts her as she lays her cheeks

seeking their chill.

clothed in the black cloth of love’s embrace

over a pastel dress

she sings as

she accepts the kiss of a meat tenderizer,

cattails hold tightly her hands

lest they lose her Human Touch

as it hums from under a Scotsman’s kilt

and works the warm earth for its bounty,

the slap of a beaver tail,

a bruise from a Bo,

blue cloud dragons,

tattoos of a pirate life,

viewing the world through an octopus’ eyes,

pieces of her rubik’s cube

kept jumbled on purpose,

a skipper of stones

her ripples turn my mountains

into paintings…


The Maiden’s Song was inspired by this photo of mine and a discussion that arose from it.




sing the blood of a thousand heartbreaks

through hollowed wood

recounting every beat,

riding the salt and pepper

calling Bottesini to rise

as the C note sinks low and mournful

into the earth


The header was taken from the car looking across the water, as we came in to town.


Want to see what others think of NIGHT…then visit Ailsa at Where’s my backpack?

30 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Night”

  1. I loved the poems. Great post.

    I guess we will continue to debated Bert and Ernie. They are dishclothes with colored threads holding them together. They can’t be gay or straight.

    Loved your post as always. I hope you take the comments in the good humor in which they were intended.



      1. Of course I remember! She always had the most interesting stuff on her blog (and how could I forget Pinghank?). No, I didn’t know that. I’d love to follow it, if you e-mail me the name of it! :D


          1. :) Thanks, Jo. I e-mailed ya back and am now subscribed again. We did have a hoot writing that! What a fun collaborative effort that was…I was so excited to see what gems awaited in the next installment!


There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

