Sunday Post: Vehicle

A few weeks ago I spent some time at the Waihi Beach Hop. This is an annual event and it was the first time for me.

Of course…the first car I was drawn to was a Chevy Impala

***

This reminded me of growing up in Australia with three brothers and lots of cars…

**

This made me almost long for another era…both outside and
inside. An era of silk and satin dresses, cigarette holders and men wearing hats and ties…

***

There was a mixture of old and new

***

Some things made me smile

***

While others made me laugh until I almost peed my pants

***

These retro vans have become popular here
With well-known designers lining up
To refurbish the old timers and then sell them on for the approximate cost of a small country

***

My first car was a Ford – though not as grunty as this big boy

***

And lets start as we began…with the car I have a giant crush on

She’s not the same year as Baby…but close enough
That I would be happy behind her wheel
Swapping these guys for the troop at home
And leaving everybody behind to eat my dust

***

I could not and would not end a VEHICLE post without the vehicular love of my life: Dean’s BABY

**

Come on and join in Jake’s fun Sunday Posts

***

The Best Australian Blogs Competition People’s choice voting is still open until May the 9th 5.00 pm Australian time.

If you want to vote for Chronicles of Illusions just click on the pretty button above and follow directions.

Chronicles is on page 1. A – E

Anyone can vote from any country and you do not need to register or be a member of any social websites.

Thank you for your support !!!!

***

51 thoughts on “Sunday Post: Vehicle”

  1. Hi,
    What a great collection they had, it would of fun walking around and looking at all these old cars, so well kept, and of course I loved the little retro van. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Jo!
    FANTASTIC…that’s the only word for your entry. 🙂 Gorgeous vehicles…thanks for sharing your great day with us. 🙂
    I couldn’t tell what year the Impala was…but it looked REALLY familiar…my dad had a 1964 Impala…I was the only person he allowed drive it (other than himself) and I was a new driver, so I know he really trusted me. 🙂 When my husband and I got married in 1967, we asked my dad if we could borrow the car so that my husband could stay home and get moving in stuff done and I could take our car (a 1967 Pontiac Catalina…wish I had that boat now) to school where I was a teacher. My dad lent us the car, my husband parked it around the corner (we were living in NYC at the timer) from our apartment, and in the morning it was GONE! They never did find it…it was 3 years old, sky blue, and looked like BRAND NEW since it was my dad’s pride and joy and he was constantly cleaning and shining it. And my dad was really good about it…he never chastised us or mentioned it again.
    Sorry for the long response…but the photo brought back so many memories. 🙂

    Like

    1. Never be sorry for a long comment – I love getting them !!1
      I am not sure what year the first Impala was, but the last one was a 1959 model.
      How cool to know your Dad felt that way about you driving his car…love it. I am so happy to hear he never said anything about the car being stolen…that is the way parents should be as it was not your fault some arse stole it !! I HATE thieves…thinking they can just take another’s possessions. grrrrrrrrrrrr

      Like

      1. Actually, you’re closer to the start than the finish. 🙂 The first Impala came out in 1958 (the first year for dual headlights on each side for Chevrolet cars also), the last one was built in 1985. By the mid-70’s to the mid 80’s, it was more a name-only badge, denoting an upscale Chevrolet, rather than a performance car, as they were during the 60’s.

        Chevrolet made a very limited run of performance cars based on the Caprice, from 1994 to 1996, called the Impala SS (Super Sport). Where the Caprice was a stodgy old folks car, the Impala got the same LT-1 V8 engine as the corvette, oversized tires on special aluminum wheels, positraction, dual exhaust, bucket seats with a console shifter and special SS emblems, grill, etc. They had a limited color selection, with most made in basic black. I bought one of the last black ’96 Super Sports made, it was even signed by John Moss, the gentleman at GM who created the car. 🙂 They’re making Impala’s again, but now they’re a cheezy compact car with a small engine.

        Like

          1. You’re welcome. 😉 I’ve been a car nut since I was a kid, starting with model cars, then rebuilding, restoring, racing and customizing cars as I got older. I don’t know much about current cars, but I know more than I should about American and British cars from the 1930’s to the 1970’s. I could have told you what year and model of pretty much ever car in your pictures, even from a partial interior shot (like the 1955 Chevy in pictures 5 and 7 🙂 ).

            Like

          2. Well, you don’t make it easy, do you? 😉 Can’t help with the first or third image, as they’ve been modified quite a bit from stock, with aftermarket parts or parts from other year vehicles. I can tell you the steering wheel in the first picture is from a 1940 Ford, Deluxe, not the Standard model, and the steering wheel in the third picture is an aftermarket wheel manufactured by Grant Industries back in the sixties. They are remaking that wheel today, still using the original part number (201), but the new version only has three holes per spoke rather than the original four.

            For the second and fourth images, assuming they are American cars, and not Australian or NZ versions of them, the second image looks like a Chevrolet, probably 1963 or 1964 and the second image looks like a 1959 Oldsmobile. How’d I do? 🙂

            Like

          3. You’re asking me…I was hoping you could spread the knowledge around Cap’n !
            😉
            Just kidding – here are the cars…the ones you weren’t sure off at least.
            3.

            1.

            2. Is the car in the background…

            4. Is also the car in the background.

            Like

          4. In the first image, the red primered car is a 1927 ford roadster pickup, the dark car on the right is a 1923 Ford T-bucket, both hod rods modified from a Model A (red primer) and Model T (dark car) Ford.

            The second picture is a 1936 Ford Roadster

            In the third picture, the white car on the left is a 1962 Mercury Monterey Convertible, the red car is a 1960 Cadillac Sedan de Ville

            In the fourth picture, the red car is a 1959 Che3vrolet Belair, and the black car on the right is a 1956 Chevrolet 150 2 door wagon (not a Nomad).

            Always happy to help my non-automotive inclined friends. 🙂

            Like

  3. Wow Jo! You’ve done a bang-up job on your post … great examples. It’s amazing how little space a person really needs when to look inside those little campers, isn’t it? Thanks for the share! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Tom…seems you are not alone in finding the van cool. It appears to be a general favourite – which is not surprising I think. I know I fell immediately in love when I saw it and wanted to spend a night or two somewhere in the bush enclosed inside. Alas the bank balance will not allow it…
      😦

      Like

    1. Thanks Sue – it was fun. Funny story. On the website they talked about a drag race that was taking place at a certain time and I made sure to be there before the start. I ran in to a friend and asked her about it. She nearly fell over from laughing. It is there she said, pointing to an area right in front of me where a bunch of fellas were running up and down the street in dresses, high heels and makeup. I felt most definitely ripped off for a time.
      😉

      Like

  4. Nice! The inside of the van was really cool. And of course you WOULD find the Impala in the bunch. 😉 Makes me miss my first car – a ’66 White Buick Special Edition, in cherry condition. She had the great big steering wheel, the lights had a button on the floor to turn them on and she went up to 120mph on the gauge (only got to open her up full throttle a couple of times). Solid steel and a tank of a car, although the engine was only a little 285. Man, what an awesome car. 🙂 Anyway, thanks for sharing your good time with us!

    Like

    1. Two Impalas – two. 🙂 I used to drive my Dad’s old Holden and then his Cortina…which I loved with all my heart and soul. I still get gooey when I see one of those.

      Like

  5. Brilliant.. Cars Ive own three in my life.. A skoda, a Rover and now a Suzuki.. But I hold a sweet passion for the FORD Anglia.. now we had 3 of those in our early years of togetherness . 🙂 😉 xxx

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

