Monochromes

I have found a great photoblog community that puts out weekly and monthly challenges among other things. It is a terrific place to stretch myself as a budding photographer.

This month’s challenge is to photograph a series of at least five monochrome shots.

This is what I came up with…

I would love to hear what you think of it !!!

***

If you want to vote for Chronicles of Illusions in the People’s Choice Awards just click on the pretty button above and follow directions.

Voting is open until May.

You don’t have to be Australian to vote, nor do you have to belong to a social media website.

Thank you for all your support.

***

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

30 thoughts on “Monochromes”

  1. Hey well done Jo, I like it 🙂
    I hope that you are enjoying
    yourself this week, with lashings
    of everything that you enjoy
    the most being applied at every
    given opportunity 🙂 Wow that
    sounds like a lot of excitement 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

  2. I think it’s fab Jo, you have chosen a great selection of colours! Did you use powerpoint to create the collage? I would like to take part but the link challenges look very complicated so I’ll just enjoy yours instead 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Gilly – I used Picasa 3.
      You shouldn’t think the challenges are complicated. Some are – some are not. And there are always a few so you can pick and choose what ones you want to take part in. For example one of the challenges now is to master TEXTURES. But they have a tutorial to lead you through it all. That is why I started doing them…the tutorials I mean. And the rest is just a bit of fun. The monochromes really opened my eyes to finding situations of one colour and working out how to make them interesting. I have never done that before…and I guess that is why I like the challenges…they get me trying new things.

      Like

    1. Thanks Cap’n – I actually had a lot of fun doing it – first finding things that were only one colour. Tha is harder than you think ! Then trying to figure out how to make that shot interesting. Then putting it together. The first few were actually kinda funny looking.

      Like

    1. Thanks – it did take a while…and quite a few shots. There always seemed to be just a flash of something else right in a too hard place to crop…but I enjoyed the way it made me look at the world.

      Like

  3. I like this one, although the picture next to the furry ear needs more definition, I think. Again, you did a great job mixing the colors and textures. The green block at the bottom tends to weight the piece in that direction – could you possibly add another green somewhere near the top of the other side, maybe? Just to balance it out a bit…anyway, there are some interesting shots in this one. 🙂

    Like

    1. Personally I think the one I sent you was better…but I liked going out and finding new monochromes and trying it again. I think I will keep shooting when the opportunity arises and do more…using some of the ones in this and adding as well as deleting…mix it up a little until I get it right…

      Like

        1. That’s why I like taking part in their challenges…I learn new things. One challenge taught me about split toning. Love THAT effect. And there are so many great photos put up – I love studying them…seeing what works, what doesn’t and taking that with me as I roam…Lumix in hand. I don’t always submit something. I think the leaf may be one of those times…I am not sure I am satisfied with those images…which is why I asked for feedback. But it is fun !!!

          Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

