Someday Man…

I woke to the news that Davy Jones , that wonderful British imp of the Monkees died of a heart attack in Florida aged 66.

I am not ashamed to admit I cried.

I have been working on a Monkees post for a while, it still needs work to do them justice.

I was just a kid when these boys bounced across my television screen in Sydney, Australia…but oh how I loved them !!

And I have never stopped.

They got a bad wrap by many who were critical of their not playing their instruments…these same critics seemed to forget how many other big name bands in the day had session musicians playing on their albums.

Davy Jones appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show on February 9, 1964 with the cast of 'Oliver' (as the Artful Dodger), the same night The Beatles made their legendary debut.

Davy was born in Manchester in 1945.

He appeared on Coronation Street as Colin Lomax…Ena Sharples grandson in 1961.

But it was Davy as Davy that got my heart pumping…even when he appeared on The Brady Bunch.

Somethings just never get old…

Or ever go out of fashion…

Davy is one of them…

So I’ll smile when I watch a clip…

Laugh a good deal as well…

1968 in Japan

And be forever grateful that he was…

for a time…

The Monkees with Chip Douglas

in the same world as I…

Finally - some recognition.

42 thoughts on “Someday Man…”

  1. I’ve been out all day so didn’t hear the news. Sorry about his death. I liked the Monkeys and their TV show. My generation. Hey Hey we’re the Monkeys.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  2. Davy Jones lived down the road here in Indian Town, Florida. He was a regular at the greasy spoon a lot of us eat our breakfast at. He was never pretentious. He was a straight up guy who would clean a stall, groom his horses then head out with horse apples still clinging to his boots. He laughed, he joked, he always seemed to have a good word and never cared what your station in life was. Even when crap was flung his way, he refrained from lowering himself into the mud pit by bickering.
    In remembrance to the man with the funny accent but was our transplant cowboy, this is for him. See you at the Big Rodeo my friend. JW

    Heavenly Father, we pause, mindful for the many blessings you have bestowed upon us. We ask that you be with us at this rodeo and we pray that you will guide us in the arena of life. We don’t ask for special favors; we don’t ask not to draw a chute fighting horse or never to break a barrier. Nor do we ask for all the daylight runs or not to draw a steer that won’t lay. Help us, Lord, to live our lives in such a manner that when we make that last inevitable ride to the country up there, where the grass grows lush, green and stirrup high, and the water runs cool, clear and deep, that you as our last Judge will tell us “Welcome home Cowboy, your entree fees are paid”.

    Like

  3. I knew I wouldn’t have time to do Davy any justice in a write up either, so I just posted a farewell memorial entry. I had just seen a “Biography” TV Doc on him last week, couldn’t believe the news today. He said he never took drugs before a show, but downed a lot of “Red Bull” I have to wonder if it were a possible contributing factor to his untimely demise. Either way, that was another one of those shows, as we spoke of last week…I ran home to watch…regardless of where I was or what I was doing.

    Like

    1. I have been working on a Monkees post for a while…and I still haven’t done them justice, but I just wanted to acknowledge him/his life/his music/his voice. A friend of mine has a daughter who has The Monkees on DVD and not that long ago I watched all the episodes…they still were magic to see…the fun…the music.

      Like

  4. I knew our connection goes way back…I, too, cried reading your post and discovering that Davy has left us. Thanks to yourpost, I can reveiw the magic he brought into my world.

    “And be forever grateful that he was…”

    Thanks Jo ❤
    RIP Davy (((<3)))

    Like

  5. I saw this when I woke up and yes it is sad. Right before I read this post, one of the painters who is working outside my apartment shouted, “Did you hear the news? Davy Jones died.” He will be missed by many.

    Like

  6. As a kid my brother and I loved the Monkees. To this day it is hard not to like Davy and the rest of the gang. Fun, catchy music. He will be missed.

    Like

    1. I wonder what it was about him…or maybe it was the combination of so many good things…even in his 60’s he still had the magic…this clip, one of the last of him with Mickey Dolenz and Peter Tork – it brings tears to my eyes.

      Like

  7. The Monkees stayed at my humble establishment a few years back; they were the nicest gents you’d ever want to meet!
    It’s a shame, but at least Davey leaves a wonderful legacy behind.

    Like

  8. Hang in there, Jo! It’s really sad but you focused on a lot of the good things.

    And hey, Oliver! is one of my favorite musicals. I never knew he was on as the Artful Dodger on Sullivan the same night as the Beatles.

    Like

  9. You really put your heart and soul into your posts! I posted the Brady Bunch video of “Girl” on my FB website. So hard to believe he’s gone at such a young age! I can’t believe I’m calling 66 young, but it IS too young to pass away from this mortal coil. 2011 saw a lot of greats fall away. Each year brings its losses.

    Like

  10. Wow, you went all out in your tribute to Davy. I doubt Davy will ever “REALLY” die. His memory will live on as all of the late great entertainers, and all ’round good people do. I am sure he would be impressed with this post if he were here to see it. Good Job. May Davy RIP.

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

