So I’ll go…

It was through my great love of Kevin Costner that I found another love.

The songbird of a generation – Whitney Houston.

Yes, like everyone else I had heard of her before, but Whitney was forever entwined in my mind with the haunting and powerful ‘I Will Always Love You.’

I can not listen to THAT song without tears falling. Even more so today.

I weep for the loss of talent. I weep for the loss of potential. I weep because forever when people talk of Whitney it will be with buts…

She was the voice of a generation, but…

She had talent, but…

She was one in a million, but…

She was much more than the buts.

She famously once said: “The biggest devil is me. I’m either my best friend or my worst enemy.” She fought her devils in public. I can’t think of anything worse.

But…yes another but…she kept fighting.

Isn’t that what makes the great ones ?

Goodbye Whitney Houston.

Thank you for your voice, your acting, your spirit.

These are what I am taking with me from your presence in this world.

2009 American Music Awards.

Related Posts:

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

30 thoughts on “So I’ll go…”

  1. So sad … so talented … had so much going for her … thinking of her young daughter Bobby Christia as well … RIP, Withney. Thanks for the music and the writeup, Jo … Blessed be, my friend. Always, cat.

    Like

    1. Hey Cat – I could listen to Whitney sing all day and all night and never find myself concentrating on anything but the sound of her…the acapella she does singing FINE is astounding – perfect – soothing and uplifting.

      Like

  2. Awesome Memorial Words for the songbird of a generation as you said. One of the greatest voices ever to bless planet earth. She had a way of bringing life to songs, and songs to life, such as Dolly Partons, “I Will Always Love You” and a song she sang back up on many times years earlier for Chaka Khan, of “Rufus”, “I’m Every Woman”…Whitney will be greatly missed.

    Like

  3. This is a very nice tribute Jo
    and what a shame that this
    happened, she was indeed
    a very fine talent…

    Have a very nice rest of evening Jo πŸ™‚

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

      1. Yes I do know what you mean and it is 02.06 at the moment πŸ™‚ Hey if you fancy a Cocktail just call into my Space, there is a few lined up just for you πŸ™‚ lol Be good though…

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

      1. Yes wonderful, and I also think that when Big Stars like Whitney and Michael Jackson leave this planet.. Even Princess Diana.. because they are so well known they create lots of compassionate thoughts these are needed within our Earth at this time to combat the anger many will explode with soon..

        Like

  4. πŸ˜₯ Darn you woman, now I’m crying again. I cried when I saw the news, and it’s still sooooo sad. “I will always love you” still makes me cry, too. She was such an amazing talent…kind of wondered if it would end this way, considering everything she’s been battling the past few years. You did her justice in this, Jo. Thank you.

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

