Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret

So what does someone do with a challenge such as REGRET when she actually regrets nothing. To quote a favourite line from a favourite movie:

“They say they built the train tracks over the Alps before there was a train that could make the trip. They built it anyway. They knew one day the train would come. Any arbitrary turning along the way, and I would be elsewhere. I would be different. What are four walls, anyway? They are what they contain. The house protects the dreamer. Unthinkably good things can happen, even late in the game. It’s such a surprise.” – Under The Tuscan Sun.

So there is nothing I would go back and change…nothing I regret because “any arbitrary turning along the way, and I would be elsewhere. I would be different.”

In that case obviously I could focus on regret for others.

Or I could show you how I feel about where I am now.

And how I feel about regret…

mourn only for sorrow itself

wrench yourself from wretchedness

fly first and furtherest

carrying friends in your slipstream…

***

Another blogger posted her REGRET…and it really spoke to me. Check out what Angelinem has to say.

84 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret”

  1. I wish I could say I was like you. I have regrets. Enough to fill a battleship. I think that’s why I turn to photography and writing. Did you know that I was in the middle of the third novel. It’s probably the first readable novel in progress. The first two were rambling, interesting only to me.

    Like

  2. PS – I am all in support of your anti-cages, anti battery-hens! Join the ‘Chickens Out’ campaign! There’s lots about chickens and hens on my blog, including Run, Chicken, Run! (http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2011/11/run-chicken-run.html)
    Saw a great piece the other day – someone had been knitting little jackets for newly released battery hens who’d been caught out in the cold snap in England!
    Writing from the Edge

    Like

      1. Thank you. I kinda needed to hear that. I quit a well paying job where everything was set for me to rise quickly, for something else. I keep wondering if that was the right thing, it’s almost beginning to border on regret.

        Like

  3. PROFOUND! 🙂 I enjoyed viewing your blog! thanks for sharing the picturesque photos! BTW, I’ve watched Under the Tuscan Sun years ago, yet the vivid memory of that awesome film lingers…

    Like

  4. thanks for the link, Jo. i kept looking at the challenge page and could not find it. must have kept missing it somehow. anyhow, i appreciate your help to get here 🙂 these are beautiful images – and i agree with your take on regret.
     
    it has been said that regret is a choice, and that choosing regret keeps you from all the blessings and opportunities that could be yours today, but for the regret. this then increases the regret about all those lost moments down the road. and so regret fuels and feeds one regret after another.
     
    and so it is wise to choose not to regret, but to forgive others – whether they ask for forgiveness or not – and to forgive oneself if that is what is needed, and then move on. how liberating is that!
     
    life is much too short for regret.. thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

