Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

***

In 1993 when I arrived in Katikati the main street would be empty by 4 pm.

Now, going in to town means crossing your fingers and hoping for that elusive parking space.

When I arrived here I was full of HOPE. Some of those hopes have been realised, some not.

I remain hopeful.

That many good things still await me.

Katikati has given me that – HOPE…

The bird in the sign is a native to New Zealand: a Pukeko.

***

These girls are a Katikati legend in the making. Bridget Martin and Kelsi Morris-Bullot are the Tangible Titans and the following clip is a tribute they wrote to Katikati called The Land of Dreams. Bridget played soccer with my son through college.

For more representations on the Weekly Photo Challenge: HOPE visit The Daily Post.

And here are a few to start with…

jmeyersforeman photography

JOSHI DANIEL PHOTOGRAPHY

Back Seat View

UNGEMALTES

SCOTTSEYEPHOTOS

Galen911

Jumbled Contents Of My Head

***

For more Katikati info: Katch Katikati

***

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

39 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope”

    1. Glad you like it – it is bizarre as we are a small town. However we are between two pretty big destinations and the highway goes right through the main town centre – it is a sore point but we can’t seem to get a bypass no matter how hard we try…

      Like

  1. Katikati sounds like a wonderful town… except for the small parking problem. Loved the video! Great entry Jo. i hope that all of your hopes are realised soon!

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

