Thank you !!

It has been difficult lately keeping the blog going with my laptop woes.

It came home last Thursday.

UNREPAIRED.

So away it has gone AGAIN !!!

And the desktop – I don’t think it likes me very much.

Hence the THANK YOU for your patience – it takes upwards of 10-20 minutes to load a page sometimes.

Maybe I should be thanking me for MY patience…hehe

But that is not the only reason for the thank you I am sending out.

I got a couple of awards recently.

Now I never used to be someone who stood out in a crowd. Nope !! Never did. And I liked it that way – yes I did !!

It was the old ‘square peg’ pretending to be round syndrome…

But the times they are a changing people…

Courtesy of The Pirate fella...

The new me loves – now I say loves it – when people say ‘Hey Jo – we like what you do!’

Oh yeah !!!!!!!!

Jennifer over at My Sardinian Life  was very sweet to send The Readership Appreciation Award my way.

I’ve never been thanked for reading before. And I guess I feel a little guilty getting it. I mean – how can you not read something as good as her blog ??

THANK YOU !! THANK YOU !! THANK YOU !!

There’s rules – aren’t there always…

Here’s the rules:

  1. Award your top 6 bloggers who have commented the most.
  2. Be thankful.
  3. You cannot award someone who has already been awarded. And you cannot give the award back to me.
  4. Don’t forget to tell the bloggers you’ve awarded.
  5. If you don’t want to pass on this award, that’s okay to. Just admire it.

I like number 5 personally.

But…

The Reader Appreciation Award goes to:

  1. Presence of Magic – Brynne always comments, and they’re very nice comments at that.
  2. RoughWaterJohn the Pirate – though he has been a bit slack lately – man he is UP there in the commenting stats. He’s also a pretty lively fella to have a chat with via the comments – so…
  3. Androgoth – when he drops by, he really drops by – and he is sooooo sweet. You’re gonna have to wait to check out his blog as he is doing a bit of housekeeping presently – lots of Gothic Wonder.
  4. 50 year Project – it always makes me smile when I see that she has popped in for a visit.
  5. Dragon’s Dreams – it’s a dream she gives me when I see her Gravatar in the screen.
  6. Lucid Gypsy – Awwww Gilly – what can I say except this wonderful lady is jasmine on the cool breeze of a summer’s day.

Now that’s not the end…I said AWARDS – yes I got more than 1 !!!!!!!!

California Ink in Motion (have you been there?) who is one of the bestest (it’s a word if I say it is)  poets around gave me the Liebster Blog Award.

It’s an award given to blogs with fewer than 200 subscribers that are worthy of more recognition and link love – which technically I no longer am eligible for – but – we don’t live by rules here anymore, so we are accepting it with glee.

Again – there’s those pesky rules…

The Rules of the award are:

  • Mention and link to the blogger who awarded you the Liebster
  • Mention 5 other blogs with fewer than 200 followers you think worthy of the Liebster.
  • Copy and paste the award to your blog.

Before we get into that – award number 3 !!!

TALES FROM THE SEA – (I admit it – I have a thing for the sea really) was so kind as to feel I should get this one. I don’t feel very versatile actually – but it is nice others think I am. Now if I could just get bendy like the old days…

Rules again… (man I hate rules)

1. Thank the person who gave you this award and link by to their blog.

2. Nominate 15 Bloggers for this award, and notify them about the nomination.

3. Tell your readers 7 things about yourself.

That means 20 bloggers.

Those of you who know me AT ALL know there is no way I am going to live up to all this rule keeping thingee.

I’m a PIRATE – if you don’t believe me scroll back up and look at the picture AGAIN !!

That said I am of a mind to mention a few blogs here that I feel fit either award.

So to those of you now mentioned here are MY rules:

  1. LOVE – I’m sending it out to you – you can send as much or as little of it ANYWHERE you please.
  2. Sending a little back my way would be much appreciated, but is NOT compulsory.
  3. Pick an award – either one – you choose.
  4. There are NO other rules, oh yeah except for rule number 5.
  5. Have a drink – PIRATE TEA (ask The Pirate for the recipe) would be my recommendation.

Blogs of great importance if you ask me are:

  1. Joa’s Arc
  2. ThirdhandArt’s Weblog
  3. I Want Ice Water
  4. Balladeer’s Blog
  5. rumpydog
  6. bukitbear
  7. Me! Me! Me Me Me !
  8. Time After Time
  9. sugar and spice, and everything nice
  10. Angelinem’s Blog
  11. TBN Ranch
  12. Granny Dog
  13. CONSPIRACYOFRAVENS
  14. Under The Oaks
  15. beeblu blog
  16. Inside the mind of Isadora
  17. IsobelandCat’s Blog

Well would you look at that – 17 blogs – close enough I’d say – if you’re not happy – arrest me…hehe

The attitude might be in part because of the connection to Ned Kelly.

Then again…maybe I just have developed an attitude.

Right – seven things about me – hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…

  1. I used to be able to sit on the floor, cross my legs with my feet right up against the crease at my hips, and walk around on my hands and knees for ages. That’s what I meant about flexible.
  2. Not long after I went back to live with my Mum (around age eight) her oldest daughter died. It scared the crap out of me because no-one I knew had died on me before. For weeks after I used to wake up and go and lean over Mum to make sure she was still breathing. My sister’s children were both adopted. When the oldest one found out, she told me I was adopted as well. It wasn’t true, but for a long time I wondered if that was the reason Mum had let me live away from her for so long.
  3. I left school in the middle of our practice exams in my fourth year of High School. Dad had told me I couldn’t stay on until the end (Year 6 – I wanted to) so I just gave up completely on the idea of education. Up until then all I ever wanted to be was a Vet. From that moment on I didn’t care what I ended up doing until I had my children. Suddenly it mattered again.
  4. The first night I went home with Mum was stressful. There were BROTHERS. That night I fell in love with two of them. The third one sort of scared me the way he glared all the time. Ian was the next in age to me of all Mum’s kids. He asked me all kinds of things that night. Even put me through a sort of spelling test. I stumbled on Queensland – leaving the ‘s’ out. I was mortified until he ruffled my hair and laughed about his own spelling mistakes. From that moment on I adored him. I still do.
  5. I knew within days that I was pregnant with The Daughter. When I went for a test the doctor asked me how late I was. “I’m not late,” I said. “I’m pregnant.” He thought I was a bit absurd, until the test showed I was right. “Well,” he said. “That’s a first. I’ve never had a pregnancy test show positive so early. Ever.” I still have the small oval shape that told me what I already knew.
  6. With The Son it was different. Oh I knew I was pregnant. No-one would believe me though, as the test kept coming back negative. The Son was trouble from day 1 !! Man was I sick. At the end the doctor did another blood test. “If you’re not pregnant,” said the ex, “if the tests come back negative again, we are getting you to a hospital.” Finally at four months the test proved me right (as always). Like I needed that to know – doctors can be so stupid sometimes.
  7. I loved standing with my head tilted back when it is rained. At least I used to until I read a legend on a blog  about a Indian Goddess named IGNIRTOQ who pees to make rain – seriously. I have a little moment of eeeuuuwww when I automatically tilt in the rain now.

Okay…if I haven’t mentioned you – it is either because the rules say I can’t, or I have already done so before, or I am planning on it in the future.

Does that cover everyone I may have offended by leaving them out ??

I hope so.

I may have attitude – but I don’t like hurting anyone’s feelings.

One more thing – or actually one more award.

For my poem Tacent I was given the Perfect Poets Award.

Well that’s about it for this time.

FYI – it took eight hours to do this post !!!

Seriously.

I even made a batch of Christmas Tree shortbread cookies while waiting for a page to load.

Not quite finished yet - they need silver balls and snow...

Toodles !!

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

54 thoughts on “Thank you !!”

  1. Jo thank you so much! I have two people plus you who have been kind enough to think of me for awards and I haven’t gotten around to them yet. I am so befuddled and not good about doing what needs to be done for these awards. After you spending 8 hours on this post I feel bad but could I just say congratulations to you for the awards you received and admire them! I never can pick just the blogs allowed and I have the procrastination disease. Oh geesh! Just thank you so much for thinking of me.

    Like

    1. Oh you are so welcome. It is a lot of work – that is why I had a few, as it took me a while to getting around to doing the post. Eight hours is kinda crazy – but I baked cookies, gardened, cleaned the house, at the same time…hehe
      😉

      Like

    1. Thank you Harry – well of course you have three – as if someone such as the DRIBBLING PENSIONER would deserve less.
      I didn’t do the pirate pic – John (RoughWaterJohn the Pirate) was having a lark at my expense – at his own as well I think, as so he tells it – it took a while to do ’cause he couldn’t stop laughing…
      But I love it…

      😉

      Like

  2. Well, thank you, thank you, thank you! Joa’s Arc appreciates the award. If you’ve liked us recently … prepare yourself for a WHOLE BUNCH of back-dated posts to pop up soon with information we could not share until now 🙂

    Like

    1. You guys at Joa’s Arc deserve soooooooooo much more than a blog award. The work you do is fabulous. I thank the universe for people like you out there who care for the perfect little souls with less than perfect bodies.

      Like

  3. Ahh gee shucks Jo, thanks! Just goes to show how similar we are as Pirates go. 🙂 On my blog, you’re second only to me in the number of comments to my posts, and you’re waaay ahead of the person behind you. Those aren’t good stats for either of us.

    I’ve been slack lately? 🙂 Oh, just a bit. Just haven’t felt like writing anything lately, either posting on my blog or visiting / commenting on anyone else’s. I think I only turned my computer on one time this week after work, I just felt the need to spend some time with a few great books in my hands, and not divide my time between the computer and reading. I’m getting back into it with my recent post, but damn am I rusty.

    You know what they say about computers, the only thing worse than owning one is not owning one, but it’s certainly a close race. 🙂

    Like

    1. Now why does that not surprise me that I am number 2 on your comment list – just remember – YOU CAN’T GIVE IT BACK TO ME – not that I don’t love getting awards, but they’re a bit of work – and I have so much other stuff to blather on about rather than me – boring old me…
      I understand your slackness – age/too much pirate tea/little grey cells decreasing – it’s no wonder that you have these flaccid moments at your time of life me old pirate Captain…

      Like

      1. None of my moments are flaccid young lady, so stop trying to get a rise out of me. 😉 It was actually nice to take a break and enjoy some quiet time on my Pirate ship. I do feel the vortex of the internet trying to suck me in again, so looks like I’m back.

        Like

  4. 😀 Thank you very much, Jo! And I LOVED learning those 7 things about you, btw. I’m not surprised if you don’t play by the rules, but hey, they were meant to be broken, eh? 😉 I can’t believe you spent 8 hours on this post! That is CRAZY, woman! I appreciate that you did, but wow…I don’t think I coulda done it. As for the holidays, I have been as busy as a bumblebutt, myself…lol. Lots of baking to do (peanut butter balls, snickerdoodle cookies, etc.) since I decided to make presents this year due to economic restraints. Anyhow, I know I’ve been kind of M.I.A. around here lately, but I plan to try and catch up this weekend. Woot! Thanks again for the award. 🙂

    Like

  5. Simply amazing! Congratulations on all your awards and heck, you deserve each one of them…I mean like 8 hours for one post. Man, that’s serious stuff!
    Hope you get your working laptop back soon!!!

    Like

  6. Wow, thank you so so much Jo!! This is a first for me, I really appreciate it! 🙂 And congratulations on your award too, omg 8 hours!! I enjoyed reading your posts you deserve it! 🙂

    Like

  7. Gosh – I’m soooooo behind with my blogs that I’m perhaps a little late to wish you hearty congrats on so many awards! I mean it though, you totally deserve the recognition, you are no longer a square peg – people love you!

    Like

  8. Thanks Jo for this Link Now I understand , hope the older nominator for my blog i can`t remember now,will forgive me after i ignore the invitations cause i cannot understand the rule before 🙂

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

