Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

Waiting for the end of the day…

Callala Bay

Callala Bay is a small town in N.S.W a few hours drive south of Sydney.

As a teenager, and during my early twenties I spent many wonderful times at a friend’s parent’s bach.

The original photo is quite old – quite damaged – so I played around with it.

This is what those days felt like to me.

In Africa it’s all about learning to wait.

***

To see how others interpret this weeks photo challenge check out: Waiting

***

Earlier Photo Challenges

Flowers

Up

Path

Texture

Faces

Fall

Sunset

Comfort

Opportunity

Hidden

Windows

Wonder

Breakfast

Family

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

47 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting”

  1. Oh Jo, you have so caught that sunshine on the water, I can almost hear the water lapping. I shouldn’t speak for you but those days seemed to be ones of endless waiting for me . . . . lovely post!

    Like

        1. Hehe – don’t be sorry – she looks good in the photo – and we weren’t dissimilar back then – I feel highly complimented – so make that mistake anytime Jake – especially if there is a photo of Angelina Jolie up.
          🙂

          Like

  2. In Mexico, too…we learn to wait. And me, I have learned to readjust values I was raised with. When someone doesn’t show up for work in the US, its legitimate grounds for firing. Here, its a question about who was sick, who needed the worker at home, how they were honoring their heart. Firing isnt even questioned. Work is never more important than honoring heart. (in rural areas, anyway) Here, head is replaced with heart. I think Africa is similar that way, no? Maybe thats one of the reasons we learn to wait. Hearts and souls are spiral when honored. 🙂 I miss you…having computer problems myself. Love reading you, seeing thru your eyes. You always make my heart smile. Thank you, dear Jo.

    Like

  3. That first photo is stunning Jo! The outboard is cool! I understand about waiting to be near the water. As a kid I could hardly wait to leave my midwestern state and go to the Gulf in Florida. I still feel that way about the ocean. Memories of special people too. Waiting is hard no matter how old we get.

    Like

    1. Thank you for saying how much you liked the first photo – that meant a lot as it is from a special time/place, and it took a lot of work to fix what was a damaged image …
      🙂

      Like

  4. Love the color tones and the effects you made with the photo. I’m with you when you said “In Africa it’s all about learning how to wait.” I stopped the times for good things to come, now I try to reach for them if I can. If I fail, I try again. Sometimes I stop and wait some more when I get tired but when I find a renewed strength , I try again. Sometimes I get lucky, good things comes with waiting without even doing anything. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    Like

    1. So happy to hear that you liked it – you never know where you’ll end up when you start playing around with photos – sometimes it works and sometimes, not so much. I agree with you about learnng to wait – it is an important skill. Thank you for the holiday wishes – the same to you and your family.
      🙂

      Like

    1. Much of Africa as I remember it – maybe that is the best lesson that continent has to teach the rest of us – to slow down and wait for things instead of running ofter everything.

      Like

    1. Thanks for saying so – as for “African Time” – I think everyone has heard of it. I think we should use it more than we do though – they are on to something if you ask me.
      🙂

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

