R is for Reckling

last in line

grasp for nourishment

blind clawing

toward an instinctive destination

lonely in the crowd

disregarded particle of the collective identity

leftover afterthought

throwaway scrap

a step

for others

louder

prettier

lustier

the before crowd

to rise from

last in line

***

reckling = smallest or weakest of a litter

***

For other thoughts on the letter R visit ABC Wednesday: R

***

This photo has been edited due to technical difficulties – i.e. it wasn’t very good.

***

On a lighter note – a band I like: The Candy Runts

36 thoughts on “R is for Reckling”

  1. Yes the runts of the litter always get left out…
    I have never heard of the Candy Runts but if
    you say that they are good, then so be it 😉

    Have a wicked one Jo 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

  2. I’ve always had a soft spot for runts. Something about helping the underdog win or something, I don’t know. Didn’t know this was another word for them. 🙂 Now I can say that I like the runts AND the recklings!

    Like

  3. I read this and with each line I thought, ‘yep, that’s me’ and when I got to the end to discover the meaning of the word it is definitely me – I am the runt in my (natural) family! Great poem.

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

