O is for Obfuscate

elemental restraint,

clarity eludes

toes squirm

through

moist earth

mist rising, engulf

that which beckons

blinded by deafness

I can’t taste the wind

as it crosses land

tiptoeing across crested waves

in farewell

#

written for ABC Wednesday: The letter O

obfuscate = to obscure; to darken; to confuse

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

30 thoughts on “O is for Obfuscate”

  1. I love these lines:

    blinded by deafness/I can’t taste the wind

    I’m always amazed at your ability to create such wonderful poetry out of a single word. I especially like the mystery at the heart of this one.

    Like

  2. obfuscate is one of my favorite words
    i even have it on a t-shirt with a design in similar vein to yours!
    great O word!
    If you’re interested in another meme, come visit today for Thurs.13. (and see the large amount of progress I made on my cardinal painting since yesterday.)

    Like

  3. Oh! I am so using that site! Thanks Jo! My 19 year old son LOVES using words that I have to say ….Huuuu??? and by the way LOVE your poem and photo. I’m stuck on the lines “that which beckons blinded by deafness” wow! I just Love it. πŸ™‚

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

