The Spiritkeeper

Quite early on when I started to blog, I found a website that drew me back – each time reading new chapters the writer had posted from her novel.

I began to comment on her personal blog, and luckily for me a cyber friendship was born.

I think I became obsessed with the tale.

Okay I did become obsessed.

We ALL know I do that !!!

But – it only went to chapter 11.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Eventually Lynn Biederstadt posted chapters 12 & 13.

At this time I went into total withdrawal mode. I HAD to know what happened.

Lynn then did something amazing- she allowed me to read The Spiritkeeper in its entirety.

I read it that night. I cried for an hour before I could e-mail her back to tell her my opinion. She asked me if I would write a review for her and I am honoured to have been given this task.

My hope is that Lynn will get this book where it belongs – into the public arena being read.

These are my thoughts on a book that will remain a lifelong favourite.

***

Sometimes a tale comes into your life that reaches a place you had not previously recognised.

The Spiritkeeper is such a tale.

As your eyes trace the words on the page you are drawn into the drama that is David Emory. You walk the lonely country roads with him; you feel the soft thread pass along your fingertips as he weaves at his loom. The weight of his burden sometimes crushes your chest.

In a tale so dominated by David, it is surprising how much presence the other characters exude.

Eli – the friend we wish we all had.

Marjorie and Martha – the lionesses masquerading as elderly ladies.

Jon – lethally vindictive.

Ty – charismatically monstrous in his selfishness.

McGill Forester – famished for truth.

As McGill pursues the truth about David Emory, she is faced with acknowledging the truth about herself.

In my first reading of the Spiritkeeper I had to control the urge to skip to endings. Paragraph endings, chapter endings, the book ending, because I do that when I am caught in a really great tale.

I savoured every word as I fought the urge to turn the page.

David Emory’s tale is the love story that drives us all to take risks.

Lynn Biederstadt has masterfully breathed life into these pages, these characters. They live and swirl around your brain, stepping out of the pages and existing as you fall deeper and deeper into their story.

Closing the last page my derelict heart crooned with an immeasurable sense of promise.

The ending is both a startling surprise, and as inevitable as the cycle of rain.

It is the book that you should never lend out – for fear you may never get it back.

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

9 thoughts on “The Spiritkeeper”

  1. She is very fortunate to have you as a cyber buddy and chose well when seeking someone suitable to write a review for her new book. You did a great job with the review, Jo…….so eloquently put together. I would definitely want to read the book after having read such a review! : D

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

