I’m naked – Small Stone #3

raw wounds,

some

jagged,

some

like satin leaves

on the lemon tree

1 limb,

longer than the others

shallow roots,

trunk

misshapen,

placed imperfectly

aesthetically offensive.

now

naked,

unproductive,

dying

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

18 thoughts on “I’m naked – Small Stone #3”

  1. I can almost feel the scars on her back
    along her legs
    with my fingers, too.
    moving me
    as you are moved,
    visceral.
    You arent alone, dear Jo.
    promise.

    Like

  2. I can only agree with Brynne, you are amazing and so is this interpretation of the picture. Of course I neednt tell you how disturbing I find it… you already know that.

    Like

    1. Oh dear – I seem to be disturbing you a lot lately. Hmmmmmm…maybe it is just my mood?? Not sure where all the darkness is coming from. Daughter is coming home for the weekend – usually lots of laughter. Will try for a perky piece. LOL 🙂
      And…thank you for the rest of the comment she says with a huge smile as she listens to the rain hosing down outside.

      Like

  3. Your words express the feeling conveyed by the picture very strongly. I agre, ‘amazing’ writing. (And the little white and black dog at the top of your blog reminds me so much of my own 2. Toy fox terrier?

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

