Lovin’ the language…

Jolene B Perry is hosting a blogfest today and I signed up for it.

The Lovin’ the Language Blogfest sounded like fun.

Here are the rules:

Pick any five lines (yes, it can be a few short lines that roll together. That’s okay, and is probably what I’ll do) from one of your WIPs. If you’re feeling shy, and don’t want to share from your own work, share from something you LOVE.

Simple.

So here are my five lines from my WIP ‘The Draco Stone’.

1. It is the tragedy that opens the enormous capacity inside of men for devotion to another that is greater than their instinct for self preservation.

2. You look much like your mother, except for your eyes, they remind me of your father’s, like a plant after rain.

3. Jyneesa’s gold hair tangled in blood and flames, giant grey walls that guard burning yellow sands and black bubbling pools weave in and out of each other until they become confused.

4. The current has picked up and it carries Adsel away from us until he is no longer discernible against the blood red horizon.

5.  Her hair spilling over me as I cradle her head swathes us like a mantle.

The last blogfest I took part in was the Favourite Book Challenge over at Teralyn Rose Pilgrim’s A Writer’s Journey blog.

It was great fun and I got to meet a lot of great people as well as make a list of books I need to read.

Now  – perhaps I should get back to Chapter 8.

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

36 thoughts on “Lovin’ the language…”

    1. It is a fantasy piece. I haven’t really said much about it on here except that it is fantasy and that the main character is called Deveron. I guess until I feel that it is really coming along I am afraid to jinx it with talking about too much. Silly me probably. 🙂

      Like

  1. Lovin’ the vibrant descriptions!
    Jyneesa’s gold hair tangled in blood and flames, giant grey walls that guard burning yellow sands and black bubbling pools weave in and out of each other until they become confused.
    First, I love the name Jynessa! Very pretty and unusual! Second, the language is beautiful!

    Like

    1. Thank you Brianna. I am very partial to that name myself. Your comment about the language makes me very happy as I wanted a different tone to the language of every day. 🙂

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

