Kurt Vonnegut – favourite quotes

Some people speak the words I want to say when they open their mouths.

Kurt Vonnegut is one of those.

Here are my 5 favourite quotes from this amazing author.

*****

  1. Human beings will be happier – not when they cure cancer, or get to Mars, or eliminate racial prejudice, or flush Lake Erie but when they find ways to inhabit primitive communities again. That’s my utopia.
  2. I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you different.
  3. I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all the kinds of things you can’t see from the centre.
  4. Still and all, why bother? Here’s my answer. Many people need desperately to receive this message: I feel and think much as you do, care about many of the things you care about, although most people do not care about them. You are not alone.
  5. Who is more to be pitied, a writer bound and gagged by policemen or one living in perfect freedom who has nothing more to say?

*****

Kurt Vonnegut
Author/Humanist/American
Born: 11/11/1922
Died: 11/04/2007

12 thoughts on “Kurt Vonnegut – favourite quotes”

  1. Hi Jo,
    I “borrowed” several of your Vonnegut quotes for my own blog and got a positive response from Charles Shields. I briefly went to his site for a quick look. It looks pretty good and between you both, I’ve decided to go to my bookshelf and re-read some of Kurt’s works. I read several of his works a few (many, many) years ago when I was a teenager. It’ll be like revisiting an old friend…
    Kevin

    Like

    1. Sounds like a good idea – I am thinking of getting some of his out and tripping through his works again. Borrow away – the further words travel the happier they are. 🙂

      Like

  2. I loved 3 and 5. You know, his books have crossed my path many times in life, but I havent yet divulged. I did not realize he did scifi! Do you recommend Slaughterhouse Five as a good one for a first read?

    Like

    1. Glad you liked them.:)
      Slaughterhouse 5 is set in World War II. Billy Pilgrim is held by the Germans in a disused slaughterhouse and time travels. Great read.
      Cat’s Cradle is my favourite – though I will have to go back and reread it as I have forgotten a lot. Wow – I mean a lot. It explores issues of science, technology, and religion. it is a bleak, dark book, but…kind of incredible.

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

