Favorite Book Challenge

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to
1.       Pick your top five favorite books
2.      Between Jun 20 and 22, write one line of what each book is about and then write one line of why you liked it. Think of it like a twitter pitch for other people’s work. Semi-colons are cheating, but you can use them anyway.
3.      Go to other blogs and discuss the books.
4.      If you do not keep a blog, put your challenge in the comments on the day of the event.
*****************

I am taking part int the Favourite Book Challenge that is being organised by A Writer’s Journey.

Why don’t you join me?

So – here are my 5 favourites. (So sorry to the rest of the books I love – I’ll get to you next time. Promise)

*********************

1. Born Free – Joy Adamson

That Elsa existed is fact; that she lived across two worlds, both with the Adamsons, and free, is the tale that travels across these pages and crosses into your heart.

The book makes you feel a part of such an important and ground breaking wildlife challenge.

2. A Breath of Snow and Ashes – Diana Gabaldon

Facing the American Revolution, Jamie Fraser, and Claire who travelled from the 20th century to be with him, walk a precarious line to keep their family safe against forces that seem determined to drag them into the turmoil.

A great plot and fantastic characters drag you along with the story until you have to blink your eyes to be sure of where you actually are.

3. All Things Bright And Beautiful – James Herriot

James lives in Yorkshire and practices as a vet with the ever surprising Siegfried, as they deal with delightful animals and their sometimes not so owners before the Second World War.

The flow of the book just reaches out and takes you along with James as he travels the moors and back roads.

4. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

Elizabeth Bennet is the feisty daughter in a family of five daughters, all of whom Mrs Bennet is desperate to find a husband for, and her meeting with Fitzwilliam Darcy takes her and her family on a journey into life they never saw coming.

The words, the characters, the setting are beautiful and it is easy to get lost in it.

5. The Last Precinct – Patricia Cornwall

Kay Scarpetta, Chief Medical Officer for Virginia becomes involved in a murder case that turns her not so stable world upside down.

It is page turning, gripping, storytelling at its best.

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

21 thoughts on “Favorite Book Challenge”

  1. I too love Pride and Prejudice (how can you not?), and I all of the All Things Bright… series – they are charming and lovely and just wonderful. Thanks for sharing…

    Like

    1. I agree – all of James Herriot’s books are great. This one is my favourite though. How he deals with married life while dealing with everything else is priceless reading. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hey fellow Aussie! Not so many of us Aussie bloggers so nice to come across one, even if you do live across the ditch 🙂 Great book selection and I’ve read a couple. I think you’ll like mine, well one of them at the very least and you may find my normal postings about my kangaroos will bring some homesickness. I’ll follow as I love to connect with “locals”. I came via the blog fest and am no 13 in the list.

    Like

  3. Pride and Prejudice is the only one of those I’ve read and they all sound wonderful. I love historicals, especially anything about the American Revolution.

    P.S. I love the “Always follow the interesting path” picture you have up on your home page.

    Like

  4. I adore anything and everything written by James Herriott! I first discovered his books when I was in Grade 6 or 7 – and I devoured them!! The situations themselves are funny enough, but add in his wry sense of humour and you’ve got a little bit of magic!! Thanks for the memories – I’m going to have to pull one of his books off my shelf!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Pride and Prejudice made it onto my list as well (but I guess you already saw that 😉
    I’ve heard good things about A Breath of Snow and Ashes. Gonna have to put that on my to-read list 🙂
    Nice blog here. Happy to follow

    Like

    1. P & P seems to be a favourite with almost everyone. Do read A Breath of Snow and Ashes – it is great. But be warned it is not the first in the series – of which all are good reads. 🙂

      Like

    1. That is what has been so great about this blogfest. Hearing from other what the books are about and what is it that draws them to a book. It allows you to figure out those which would appeal to you and those that while still perhaps great books are not to your taste.

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

