Fresh fish fillets – there’s nothing quite like them…

    It seems that no matter where you go you can find fish and chips.

    The local takeaway.

    Most restaurants have them on the menu.

    It’s getting a good batch that counts.

    The small rural town of Katikati, where I live, is close to the harbour so fresh seafood is not a problem.

    It’s the cooking that counts.

    Just up the road is my favourite takeaway food place. The chips are amazing, and the fish is good too. And for a change they have fantastic gourmet burgers.

    Last Friday a good friend took me out for lunch at one of the town’s most recognisable restaurants. Over the years I’ve been there a few times. I even did a runner on an irate husband one night from the dining room.

    But that’s another story.

    I’m pretty sure that my friends don’t think I get out and about enough – with the book, and the blog, and the animals all keeping me pretty busy.

    I was tempted when the waitress told me how fresh the fish was – so I ordered fish and chips. It was melt in your mouth delicious.

    Which – because I am into trying to eat healthily lately – sent me searching for my tried and trusty crumbed fish recipe.

    Another great part of living in this community is the people. I am surrounded by great Kiwis. Literally (my neighbours), and figuratively (my friends).

    There is a great deal of exchange that occurs when you live in such a community. Fresh food passes from one home to the next.

    In the last week I have been given: lemons, limes, tamarillos, feijoas, kiwifruit, avocados, mandarins, and apples.

    Soon I shall be able to return the favour when the grapefuit tree starts fruiting.

    Just about anything grows in this country – and it grows fast. 6 strawberry plants I was given a year ago for Christmas have turned into my own strawberry field. I’m waiting for the Cape Gooseberries, Passionfruit, and Blueberries to start fruiting.

    But…back to the fish.

    Which I often also get given by a neighbour when he returns from a trip out into the harbour.

    Recently I was handed some snapper fillets – yes that’s how great people are to me. They even filleted the fish.

    Not wanting to mess about – fresh fish is fresh fish, and not to be messed up – I feasted for two days on them, and an added side dish of homemade kumara chips, plus salad.

    So I thought I’d share my recipe for Crumbed Fish. It’s simple and yummy.

    Ingredients

    1 cup of freshly processed wholemeal breadcrumbs.
    The grated rind of 1/2 a lemon.
    2 tablespoons of fresh parsley – chopped finely.
    1 teaspoon of Cajun spices.
    Fish fillets (I find this recipes does about 4 medium ones).
    1/2 cup of homemade mayonnaise.

    Method

    Preheat your oven (or you can grill them if you like) to approximately 190%C fan forced.

    Line a tray with baking paper. Lightly coat with a small amount of olive oil.

    Mix the breadcrumbs with the grated lemon, parsley and spices.

    Coat the fish in the mayonnaise and dunk into the breadcrumbs. Patting gently will make the crumbs adhere a little better.

    Pop into the oven (putting them up high).

    After about 5 minutes turn the fish over and cook for another five minutes.

    Done.

    Eat and enjoy.

Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

4 thoughts on “Fresh fish fillets – there’s nothing quite like them…”

  1. What an interesting blog (love the images) you have! I must say, as an American I’ve always been intrigued by fish and chips, you know the kind you see wrapped in newspaper and bought on the docks in movies. A few months ago, I actually got the closest I will probably ever get to it. We went to a seafood market where they unload the good right off the boat for purchase and they have a tiny eatery there….wasn’t wrapped in newspaper, but I sort of got the experience!

    Like

    1. Thank you – glad you came by and found something you liked. Do you not have ‘fish and chips’ in American? Did not know that fact. It is just great comfort food.

      Like

  2. You know, all my youth I thought I hated fish. Then I grew up and found out I loved fish. Turns out it was my moms cooking that was the culprit 🙂

    Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

