Point of No Return.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Supernatural has hit a mile marker. Point Of No Return is a great title for the 100th episode of this series that has built up a loyal and strong fan base.

Zachariah is back. What a villain is Zac. Oh wait – Zac is wallowing in his loss of status with the other angels. Seems even evil angels have down moments. But this is Zachariah, so he doesn’t stay down and out for long. His boss – Michael arrives with a proposition.

After Michael kills the other bar patrons by simply turning up (these angels are not sweet, kind-hearted guys), Zachariah is happy enough to start singing.

They have the best villains on this show. Funny and evil make a good combination.

And from the beginning the writers throw in such brilliant moments. Playing on the jukebox is The Man Upstairs by Patsy Cline.

Time to leave Zac for a while, and track down Dean, who is packing away his gear and getting ready to become an angel condom for Michael. Hey, he said it, not me. I’m just quoting !!

More little clever touches by the writers.

• Dean is at Mike’s Travel Inn
• His room number is 100 (100th show, remember)
• When Dean addresses the box he sends it to Robert Singer. It’s meant for Bobby of course, but Robert Singer is also a producer on the show.

It would seem Sam knows Dean as well as Dean knows Sam. Sam tracks him down at the motel and as backup has brought Cas along.

Zapping back to Bobby’s we have a somewhat cranky Dean. When he tells Bobby that he is not his father, it almost broke my heart.

But being Supernatural they don’t dwell on the sappy moments for too long and Cas is dragging someone out of a grave, after killing a couple of angels.

The way they are popping off angels this series – I hope God hurries up and goes back to Heaven – he is going to need to make more of them.

Where’s God? He’s throwing a tantrum because the kids (angels) are not playing nice and has gone on vacation.

So – who is this body covered in dirt?

Clever writers – so clever. They have brought Adam back to life. The boys half brother, who was eaten by a couple of ghouls in Season 4, Jump The Shark.

It must be in the Winchester genes – coming back from the dead.

I wish they’d bring John back.

Cas carves a sigil into Adam’s ribs. There are so many layers to this show’.

For those of you uneducated out there – earlier this season Cas carved sigils into both Dean’s and Sam’s ribs. It looks cool on x-rays, and hides them from not only demons but angels.

Why did they bring Adam back? To be Michael’s angel condom of course. Or did they?

One thing I will say for Adam – he sure has the Winchester attitude.

So – not only is Dean doing his best to become Michael’s meat-suit, so is Adam.


So much conflict. Even Cas is getting in on it. Castiel angry – love it.

Then came the moment I wanted to kick Dean in the whatsit.

Sam: Well, you think maybe you could take a half second and stop trying to sacrifice yourself for a change? Maybe we could actually stick together.
Dean: I don’t think so.
Sam: Why not? Dean, seriously, tell me. I want to know.
Dean: It’s just, I don’t believe.
Sam: In what?
Dean: In you. I mean I don’t…I don’t know whether it’s gonna be demon blood, or some other demon chick, or what, but I do know they’re gonna find a way to turn you.
Sam: So you’re saying I’m not strong enough.
Dean: You’re angry…you’re self righteous. Lucifer is going to wear you to the prom man…it’s just a matter of time.
Sam: Don’t say that to me…not you…of all people.
Dean: I don’t want to but it’s the truth. And when Satan takes you over there’s got to be somebody there to fight him. And it ain’t gonna be that kid. So it’s gotta be me.

When will he give Sam a break? Does he not remember that if he hadn’t broken the first seal none of this would be happening? Are all big brothers this self-righteous?

Which is funny because that’s exactly what he calls Sam.

Dean eventually zaps Cas away with an Enochian blood sigil, which Cas never thought Dean would use on him, and off he goes to find Michael.

Adam shows us he’s got more Winchester in him by disappearing as well.

Time for some humour amongst all this doom.

Dean approaches a street preacher and asks him to pray and tell the angels he’s there. Castiel has the funniest line in the show when he turns up.

“You pray too loud,” he growls and drags Dean into an alley.

Then came the most brutal moment so far – Castiel beating the crap out of Dean. It was really hard to watch, but I kept wanting to yell, “Go Cas!”

Tough Cas is so sexy !!!!!!! Yeah, so I think an angel is hot. I’m not the only one I think.

Finally there comes the moment I’ve been waiting for.

Sam decides to take Dean with him to rescue Adam. Something Bobby and Cas are not sure about. Even Dean is a little confused.

Which leads to another brotherly conversation, while Sam takes the handcuffs off Dean. Yeah I know – Dean, handcuffs…oh dear.

Sam: How ya doing?
Dean: Word to the wise. Don’t piss of the nerd angels. So? How’s it going?
Sam: Adam’s gone.
Dean: Where?
Sam: The room where they took you.

Who would have thought that the Green Room was in a shed in California? Not me. To continue…

Dean: And?
Sam: For starters, bringing you with.
Dean: Excuse me?
Sam: There’re too many of them, we can’t do it alone, and you’re pretty much the only one in town.
Dean: Isn’t that a bad idea?
Sam: Cas and Bobby think so. I’m not so sure.
Dean: Well, they’re right. Cause either it’s a trap to get me to say yes or it’s not a trap and I’m gonna say yes anyway and I will. I’ll do it, fair warning.
Sam: No you won’t – when push shoves you’ll make the right call.
Dean; You know, if tables were turned, I’d let you rot in here. Hell, I have let you rot in here.
Sam: Yeah, well, I guess I’m not that smart.
Dean: I…I don’t get it. Sam, why you doing this?
Sam: Because you’re still my big brother.

Ohhhhh Sam…

Now back to the action…

In one episode Castiel gets into three butt-kicking fights. Yeah !!!!

He’s one tough angel, carving a sigil into his chest and zapping himself and the rest back to Heaven. Please come back Cas…

Zac is waiting for the boys (well, for Dean really), and to amuse himself he has a little not so nice play time with Adam.

I got a little excited when Sam popped up with the angel knife.

Would this be the end of Zachariah?

Not so.

I was on the edge of my seat as Dean actually agreed to let Michael wear him. I know. That’s what he has been saying this whole episode – but I did not want to believe it.

“Don’t do it Dean,” I was screaming in my head.

Yes – I get a little carried away.

I should have had faith.

Seems Dean had an angel knife of his own.

Is it wrong to say you will miss an evil villain?

Now Dean and Sam might have gotten out – but Adam is gone. Is he with Michael? And is Cas okay?

We are getting close to the end – but at least the boys are finding each other again.

This episode has all been about the brothers and their relationship. Three conversations they have, define it perfectly. So here is the last one of the night.

As they drive away – the writers got to me once again. Some of the best scenes in this show take place in the Impala.

And yes, it had me reaching for the tissues.

Sam: So?
Dean: So what?
Sam: I saw your eyes – you were totally rocking the yes back there. So? What changed your mind?
Dean: Honestly? The damnedest thing. I mean, the world’s ending, the walls are coming down on us, I look over to you and all I can think about is, the stupid son-of-a-bitch brought me here. I just didn’t want to let you down.
Sam: You didn’t. You almost did, but you didn’t.
Dean: I owe you an apology…
Sam: No man. No you don’t…
Dean: Just let me say this…I don’t know if it’s being a big brother or what, but to me, you’ve always been this snot-nosed kid that I’ve had to keep on the straight and narrow. I think we both know that’s not you anymore. I mean, hell, if you’re grown up enough to find faith in me, the least I can do is return the favour. So screw destiny right in the face. I say we take the fight to them and do it our way.
Sam: Sounds good.

Sounds good to me too.

For once the boys seem to on the same page again…here’s hoping it stays that way.

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

