Fresh Tomato Soup

This is a friend’s recipe – and it really is the best!!

25 g butter

1 onion thinly sliced

1 carrot thinly sliced

1 tablespoon flour

750 g tomatoes peeled and chopped (if you want to cheat – use 2 x 400 g cans)

3 cups of vegetable or chicken stock

1 bay leaf

a pinch of ground mace

***

1. Melt the butter in a pan and add the onion and carrot.

2. Cook over low heat (covered) for 5 -10 minutes.

3. Stir in flour.

4. Add tomatoes, stock and spices.

5. Bring to boil and simmer for 20 – 30 minutes

6. Puree in blender/food processor.

7. Enjoy

2 thoughts on “Fresh Tomato Soup”

  1. This is the 4th recipe I’ve read on your blog, and I’ve come to the conclusion that you like what we like when it comes to food πŸ˜‰ We make our own tomato soup, too, in the autumn when we’re overrun with tomatoes from our own garden. We’ve got our own tomato soup recipe posted on our gardening blog, if you want to take a look you’ll find it in My Links on my blog.

    Like

    1. I will definately do that. I have never been happy with my tomato soup – but this one has some body to it so I;m hooked – and tomato soup is one of my favourites. It’s heading into winter here so it is real soup weather.

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

