Spring Into Summer (SIS) 50k Writing Challenge

Karen Mahoney, author of the Iron Witch is running a 50,000 words in 50 days challenge. I only just found out about it.

Although it did start last Friday, May the 6th, you can still join up until Friday the 13th – ohhhhh – I am a little superstitious about Fridays with 13 attached.

Anywho – I’m in even if I started late.

Like NaNoWriMo somewhat – the aim is to write 1,000 words a day.

If you are interested check it out.

Here is the link for all the info, and to sign up.

If you need a kick in the butt to get started with a project, or are stalled on one, this may be just what you need.

Wish me luck people !!!!!!!!!!!!!

13 thoughts on “Spring Into Summer (SIS) 50k Writing Challenge”

  1. You dont need luck, Jo! You have WAY more than that in you! I just know it!
    It comes down to what else has to go…at least it does for me. Right now I trade sleep for writing time and boy…after the high of hitting the writing sweet spots, tired days aren’t the usual tired days! Just call me a smiling zombie. I wonder where you will carve out your time….:)

    Like

  2. Thanks. πŸ™‚ I am hoping it will mean the book gets chugging along more than it has lately – after all I have set myself a dealine of December to get it ready to take it to a publisher.

    Like

      1. It is a fantasy – nine guys on a quest to retrieve something stolen from their society – so far I have killed off one of them – and there are all types of weird and wonderful creatures appearing out of nowhere at times.
        The main character is marvelous – he is 6’1″, has green eyes, got a bit of a stick up his arse at times – but very protective of his friends and brother.The love of his life – well now she is interesting – and her father is kinda mean.
        Promise you won’t laugh – but he looks EXACTLY like one of my favourite TV actors – I have a screensaver of him so when I get stuck in the story I take a look and get into it again. Now if only I could change the clothes he’s wearing so they weren’t so modern day !!

        πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. What FUNNNN, Jo! Maybe he *does* wear modern day clothes!! Maybe you will figure out some wild reason for him to do so…then you can tell all your fans about your screen saver during one of your interviews! Dont you love how things like that put wrinkles in our stories? Cant WAIT to read your book, Jo!!! Sounds like something I would LOVE!

      Like

      1. I don’t mind his clothes really – he looks good in them – but they don’t really fit with where he is in my head. I seem to be obsessed with him though – I eat, sleep, God everything I do, I see or hear him. I can be having a coffee with a friend, and the begger starts arguing with his younger brother over whether he can climb the mountain to the ???’s lair or not. Or he starts getting all saucy with the golden haired minx he is kinda silly over. Then there is his mate who has 4 legs but they are always having the most amazing discussions.
        The other week I spent hours in the garden with a big knife – trying to figure out how to describe the sound it made when it hit stone.
        A friend gave me all 3 Lord of the Rings movies to watch ’cause I was having trouble with a battle scene.
        Okay – that’s enough procrastinating – back to it I think. πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. OOOO, I think I know from whom you’ve modeled that green-eyed character…the hint’s in the fact that he too has a brother..LOL. Am I on the right track here?

    “The main character is marvelous – he is 6’1β€³, has green eyes, got a bit of a stick up his arse at times – but very protective of his friends and brother.The love of his life – well now she is interesting – and her father is kinda mean.
    Promise you won’t laugh – but he looks EXACTLY like one of my favourite TV actors – I have a screensaver of him so when I get stuck in the story I take a look and get into it again.”

    But tell me, did you draw him or have him drawn? I’m intrigued! Look forward to reading your book since I know you’ll meet your deadline ;-D Keep writing girl, keep writing!

    Like

    1. I’n not denying it. Deveron is the spitting image of…you are so on the right track. It helps to have a face to him. When I get stuck I look at the screensaver and have a wee chat with him – ask him why he’s doing what he’s doing. Lordy I sound a little odd saying that…:)

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

