Definition of an ABC poem.

An ABC poem can take two forms.

  1. Simply begin the poem with a word. The following line begins with a word from the next letter in the alphabet. And so on…if you start with a word beginning with A, then the next line starts with a word that begins with the letter B. Should you choose to start with a word beginning with F, then the following line begins with a word beginning with G.
  2. Another form of an ABC poem is one that has 5 lines. The poem creates an atmosphere, an emotion or an image. Lines 1,2,3,4 can be words, phrases or clauses. The first word in each line follows the alphabetical order after the letter of the first word. Line 5 – the first word can begin with any letter. Line 5 is one sentence.
Author: Jo Bryant

I was born in the land of Banjo Paterson, gum trees, and weather extremes. I am a freelance writer. I live in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, but still like to claim my Australian heritage. I graduated with a Bachelor of Communications in 2008. I am writing my first novel. I love to write poetry, short stories, and also write for the web. And there is nothing that is on a par with a sunny summer's day spent at Waihi Beach.

2 thoughts on “Definition of an ABC poem.”

    1. I do have one – but I am sending it in to a competition, and can’t publish it until after. I am working on another ABC poem, but they are not easy to write as I try to do all 26 letters when I write one.

      Wish me luck 😉

      Like

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

