The A of Aussie Slang

Ace! : Excellent! Very good!

Aerial pingpong : Australian Rules football

Agro : Aggressive, spoiling for a fight, pissed off

Akubra: A famous brand of Australian hat

Alkie : Alcoholic

Alice, The : Alice Springs is a famous town in Australia’s Northern Territory

Amber fluid : Beer. drink, booze

Ambo : Ambulance, ambulance driver

Ammo : Ammunition

Anchors, Hit the : slow down or stop

Ankle biter : Small child, nipper

A.N.Z.A.C. : The Australian and New Zealand Army Corps

Apples, she’ll be : It’ll be all right

Arse : Bottom, bum, butt

Arse over tit : To fall over

Arvo : Afternoon

Aussie (pron. Ozzie) : Australian

Aussie salute : Brushing away flies with the hand

Av a go ya mug : A form of encouragement – ‘put some effort in to it’

Avos : Avocados

***

The B of Aussie Slang

The C of Aussie Slang

The D of Aussie Slang

The E of Aussie Slang

The F of Aussie Slang

The G of Aussie Slang

The H of Aussie Slang

18 thoughts on “The A of Aussie Slang”

  1. I wanted to comment about that first amazing video. Those knee to collar bone jumps are SO cool. But now I can barely type for the lump in my throat, simply calling for a moment of silence. That last video really spoke to me, considering I just watched Galipoli a few days ago. Seeing those men standing proud, the real men, and this song so well written and performed. :( :)

    1. The Australian Rules video is cool :)
      But – I know what you mean about the last video – it had a similar effect on me.

      Amongst all the silliness of the other bits I wanted to also share what it is to be an Australian – an ever proud, fly-swatting, red earth, XXXX loving Australian.

      I’ve always watched the ANZAC marches.

      Grew up with Waltzing Mathilda and men, old men, maimed men, but still walking with dignity in those parades men – now my son is in the Navy – it speaks to me in an even louder way. So glad that you felt the A.N.Z.A.C. spirit. :)

  2. Yes even I recognise some of these from around these parts
    so all I need now is a nice hat with corks attached and I will be,
    well, almost there don’t you think? :) Thank you for adding such
    a wickedly excellent posting, I have really enjoyed this one Jo :)

    I hope that your Wednesday is a truly wicked one :)

    Androgoth XXx

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

