The Owl and the Pussycat…

Edward Lear illustration

The Owl and the Pussy-Cat went to sea
In a beautiful pea-green boat:
They took some honey, and plenty of money
Wrapped up in a five-pound note.
The Owl looked up to the stars above,
And sang to a small guitar,
“0 lovely Pussy, 0 Pussy, my love,
What a beautiful Pussy you are,
You are,
You are!
What a beautiful Pussy you are!”

Edward Lear illustration

Pussy said to the Owl, “You elegant fowl,
How charmingly sweet you sing!
Oh! let us be married; too long we have tarried,
But what shall we do for a ring?”
They sailed away, for a year and a day,
To the land where the bong-tree grows;
And there in a wood a Piggy-wig stood,
With a ring at the end of his nose,
His nose,
His nose,
With a ring at the end of his nose.

Edward Lear illustration

“Dear Pig, are you willing to sell for one shilling
Your ring?” Said the Piggy, “I will.”
So they took it away, and were married next day
By the turkey who lives on the hill.
They dined on mince and slices of quince,
Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
They danced by the light of the moon,
The moon,
The moon,
They danced by the light of the moon.

*******

This famous nonsense poem by Edward Lear was first published in 1871.

The story ALWAYS made sense to me.

I never knew that he was raised by someone other than his mother – but I should have felt a kinship with him had I known.

I loved the rolling flow of the poem.

I could taste the honey.

I could smell the money – Five pound was a lot in my childhood.

Oh, and how they loved, enough to sail across the water for a year and a day.

And I saw them – Owl and Pussy standing in the woods as they wed.

Some stories/poems never date.

This is one of them.

And now, if you please, I’d like you to meet a latter day Owl and Pussycat…

How they met…

Fum & Gebra have their own Facebook page.

8 thoughts on “The Owl and the Pussycat…”

  1. Hi there! I have also loved this wee rhyme for its flow and lightness. Funny thing though is my daughter Rachel and her hubby Elliot are described beautifully by this poem. Her fav collectible has been owls for years now (I think she has close to 100). Her hubby – known as El (owl) is a singer/songwriter/guitar player with massive eyes and a very serious and quirky expression. Long before she knew he existed, he liked her from afar and wrote and performed a song about her! They married almost a year to the day after declaring their love. Now the combined love of their lives is a 19.5 year old pussy called Tigger. Just thought you’d love that story :)

  2. This whole post is just too cute!
    Who knew a cat and an owl could be friends? Just goes to show if the animals can do it, why can’t we humans?
    Lovely!

    Thanks for commenting at my blog.

  3. I love this poem. When I was little it made perfect sense to me as well. Still does actually. I had a little beat up statue of an Owl and a Pussycat and I would put them on my window sill at night so they could dance in the moon. Now as an adult I have a Great Horned Owl who lives in the woods behind my house. He’s a noisy bird, I like to think he’s dancing and singing in the moonlight.

There are two things I know for certain. One: Bert and Ernie are gay. Two: I want to hear your opinion.

